Side project ideas from 2023 to 2024

Side project ideas from 2023 to 2024

Let your project live- laissez faire approach.

Do you have issues finding a good idea to develop for fun. I have the same issue - finding something to make or create; not for money; but for a good side project you will not abandon. Side projects you publish can become something later. I like to let it live and see if people will visit organically.

I am part from many different communities and have many hobbies. It is safer to assume you should do a side project that you enjoy. So just buy the domain and host it for free then let the site be alive for a year or two.

Projects in Video Games

I created 2-3 websites around video game called Entropia Universe. I support the community while playing the game. Making tools and porting in-game info to the outside world.

Entropiahub.com is a collection of links to help the community get started and I made special tools for in-game as well. Made with PHP and a custom template.

Entropia.Estates is all about player housing and understanding the value over time - which is very time consuming for me. I also written guides and tutorials. Made with NuxtJS 3.x to continue my learning of the framework.

Foma-Asteroid.com is an interesting experiment posting content about in-game shops and their inventory for only one planet or region from the game. Traffic is low but the website looks pretty good. Made in PHP with a nice template from Envato and a custom esport logo from fiverr to make the website looking extra nice.

Projects in the Metaverse

I have been introduced to Earth2.io since the beginning 3 years ago and I have been a followers of the development gaining community reputation and a supporter by making a few websites to contribute.

E2Production.com was my first website about Earth2 made in NuxtJS to continue my support of the framework since I have been migrating my day job towards the stack. The website has tools for a specific niche like jewels crafting when it was fairly new. It was to establish myself towards mastery for the metaverse and the community.

Then I started to make another website called E2EPLs.com to make another online tool to learn Supabase and NuxtJS 2.x - which help me understand the tech stack and also publish a website where people will actually use.

As of today I am making another website called E2.University in PHP with a LMS theme from Envato. This will let me explore how to make a premium website using Stripe and UX/UI for teaching how to play Earth2 Metaverse. And I will be able to test all my learning through the community getting instant feedback. Huge win for expanding my skills!

Projects in low traffic niche

I am also deving 3 more websites with super low traffic niche.

GDDMaker.com is a labor of love - making a micro saas website for letting indie game devs make their game design documents for their video games. It is a way to organized thoughts while making a game before releasing it. There is a multitude of add-ons to create for this niche. I think this project will keep me busy for a while.

BookFairyTales.com is a domain I purchased on Flippa marketplace. It was a good deal for the domain since I came up with an idea to experiment with. This project will let my Unity or Defold learning path develop into making a Roblox style library for kids. Huge market share for the topic. This project coincide with the release of Unity 6 for the WebGPU (WebGL) improvements from the game engine. Could make a nice indie publishing story books - who knows.

MathK12.tools is another somewhat saturated market for making math homework for students as PDF. Making tools for teachers would be amazing - and my competition is not that bad. It is more a way for challenging myself into creating the code and UX/UI to make it better - add more features type of brainstorming.

Conclusion for 2024

In brief I have a lot of web properties to make and publish. I would recommend devs to make as many websites and try new things - learn new teach or older technologies. And one year to test validity of an idea or project is about right. MAke something great in 2024.